PDA

View Full Version : Triple 777 with #11 cap

farmer66
04-20-2016, 06:02 PM
I am new to muzzle loading, and am ready to get my feet wet. I have a 50 caliber TC New Englander and was trying to select a powder. Lots of positive things on using T7, but the manufacturers site says to use it only with 209 primers. Several threads here talk about using it with vintage revolvers and #12 cap. Is it reasonable to use T7 with the #11 or #11 magnum cap?

Ken

Tatume
04-20-2016, 06:28 PM
I have burned many pounds of Triple 7 in traditional sidelock muzzle loading rifles using standard #11 caps. I've not had misfires and have had excellent accuracy. Cleaning is by far the easiest of all the black powder substitutes, on a par with true black powder. Do not hesitate to use loose Triple 7 in your New Englander.

I have not used the pellets, and would not recommend the pellets. Could they be the source of your 209 primer warning?

Take care, Tom

jcren
04-20-2016, 06:46 PM
I have no problem with 777 in any black powder, even pistols with #10 caps. The pellet is a whole nuther animal. They are so tightly compressed that a side burner will not light them consistently, even my inline didn't like them on cold mornings.

mooman76
04-20-2016, 06:52 PM
A revolver has a straight through ignition which should work even better than a sidelock. As far as #11 and #10 caps, the only difference between them is the size.

farmer66
04-20-2016, 06:55 PM
The literature says: "Use Triple Seven only in a 209 primer ignition system." But that statement is located in the pellet section, so I guess it applies to pellets.

Thanks for the confirmation.

Ken

GREENCOUNTYPETE
04-20-2016, 07:47 PM
it works fine in Thompson side locks , the important part is just like black powder you need to make sure that the flash channel is clean and free of oil.

over oiling then setting muzzle up leads to many an ignition problem with real black or subs