PDA

View Full Version : Anything Simple Left To Try On A Sticky Lee Mold

ArrowJ
04-13-2016, 02:30 AM
I am casting what I believe are shootable bullets. It is very rewarding, but I can only imagine it would be better if I was not thumbing every bullet out of the mold.

I cleaned the mold with break cleaner and a tooth brush. I lubed the pins etc., but not too much as to get it in the cavities. I tried smoking the mold. I have used temperatures from 750° - 850°.

One cavity is a little worse than the other, but both are not good. I have read about guys doing other things with buffing compound etc., but I have to say, I am not good at that sort of thing and instead of a sticky mold I will have no mold.

Should I try boiling the mold even though I already cleaned it? Is that a problem since I have already used it (a problem for the mold, obviously I will not use a food pot)?

Maybe I just keep using it and save up for a better mold?

My sprue plate also will not stay tight, and I have neither the tools nor skill to install a set screw so I have to keep tightening that as well.

I will accept direct answers or links to other threads without complaint. I did search, but this forum is huge and the pertinent info is sometimes buried in derailed threads (I know because I have derailed them).

I had to return my brand new Redding Big Boss II for repairs today. I was hoping to get a lot of bullets made in my down time. It would be nice to have them drop free.

Boolit_Head
04-13-2016, 04:50 AM
I am a advocate of smoking a mold. A thin layer of carbon from a candle flame will work wonders. I suggest cleaning the mold with a tooth brush and dish detergent then lightly playing the flame of a candle over the mold until you get a light layer of carbon. It should only take a second or so to slightly blacken the chambers of the mold. For me that acts like a seasoning and usually only needs to be done to a new mold.

ArrowJ
04-13-2016, 05:43 AM