PDA

View Full Version : Issues with a new(to me) S&W 686

tazman
04-12-2016, 09:07 PM
I recently picked up an almost new 686 4". It is a new enough model to have the lock on the side. The trigger on this one is smooth and works well so apparently the extra parts didn't bother this one. I had been looking for an older pre-lock version, but those are not available around here. This was the only used 686 I have seen in 3 months of looking.
I started shooting with loads that worked well in my other revolvers and had rather poor results. I kept trying different loads until I started shooting some 358311 boolits I had recently cast.
These worked really well.
I checked the cylinder throats when I got home and found they would, just barely pass a 357 jacketed bullet. A .358 boolit would not pass through any of the throats.
The 358311 boolits dropped from the mold at .357 so that is probably the reason they worked so well. I haven't slugged the barrel yet, but I had no leading with over 200 rounds through the barrel so I am not too concerned about it.
Today I took more of the 358311 boolit loads and some Hornady XTP loads with me to the range. These all shot extremely well for me. Roughly a 1.5 inch group at 10 yards.
The other loads still shot poorly in it.
As a test, I brought my Target Masterpiece along as well. It performed it's usual outstanding results with all loads so it wasn't just me having a bad day the first time.
I guess this one is a bit picky.
Should I have the throats reamed out to .358 or should I leave well enough alone and just shoot the loads it likes?

snowwolfe
04-12-2016, 09:32 PM
Depends on what you want. Generally revolvers that are set up well usually will shot a variety of loads well.

Piedmont
04-12-2016, 09:46 PM
Try some of those 358311s out of magnum cases. Maybe the jump is causing your inaccuracy with that bullet. I wouldn't ream until I had done lots of testing. It probably won't be necessary.

leftiye
04-13-2016, 08:06 AM