PDA

View Full Version : Jackpot....or junkpile ???

JohnClark7886
05-08-2008, 01:26 PM
OK guys here is the question. Did I hit the jackpot or junkpile. I called a local indoor range I shoot at to get some empty 12 ga hulls. In talking with the guy he informed me he has "thousands of pounds" of spent bullets, shotgun pellets etc that they can't get rid of. He says there is a lot of lead in there. Is it worth it to melt down shot ammo, such as pistol bullets, rifle bullets and shotgun pellets to get the lead out. Also if you do, is the copper resellable that is left over? Help I am a newbie to casting and will be casting my own buckshot with this...did I hit a jackpot or is it just a junkpile...thanks everyone...

jeph83
05-08-2008, 01:33 PM
It's worth it. If you can get it for free it's a no brainer.

I helped a couple weeks ago with smelting down range scrap. It was extra messy and smoked a lot but nothing that can't be delt with.

I would imagine if most of it was from jacketed bullets the lead you get will be pretty soft. I don't know what kind of alloy is used for shotgun pellets so it might be just what you're looking for or you might have to alloy the recovered alloy with something.

sundog
05-08-2008, 01:52 PM
Junkpile, definitely. Just have him deliver to my house, and I will dispose of it. No charge.

Cherokee
05-08-2008, 02:30 PM
Motherload !! Melt it all down and test it to see how hard it is. Might be just fine for light to mid range loads. You might see if you can sort it to separate the jacketed from the cast bullets before melting.

Gussy
05-08-2008, 02:40 PM
Scrap price at the junk yard for the brass jackets too. Lead is the bonus.
Gus

Blammer
05-08-2008, 03:41 PM
Jackpot! If it's free.

JohnClark7886
05-08-2008, 03:49 PM