PDA

View Full Version : Gas tube leak by?

wyrmzr
04-04-2016, 03:28 PM
I just noticed this on my bull barrel for my AR. My 300 AAC barrel doesn't seem to have this same leak by at the gas tube/gas block juncture.
The rifle functions fine, the gas tube is clear, but I was mostly just curious as to whether this may be something to be concerned about?

Adam Helmer
04-04-2016, 04:00 PM
wyrmzr,

It seems you have an arm with the direct gas impingement system. I own several, but prefer Piston Driven arms. Only the M1942 Swedish Ljungman, U.S. M16 and the Egyptian Hakim have used the direct gas impingement system. I see many current ARs are piston driven. That is a improvement, in my humble opinion. I was issued an M16 in July 1965. I did not like the gas system then and still do not.

Adam

Mk42gunner
04-04-2016, 04:06 PM
I'm no expert when it comes to building AR's, but it appears to me that your gas block doesn't fit your barrel correctly.

In the thousands of M16's that I owned (Armorer in a Seabee battalion) I never saw gas leakage at the juncture of barrel and gas block.

Robert

country gent
04-04-2016, 04:07 PM
As long as the rifle is functioning reliably the leak is not a big problem. Just to remeber to clean it every so often. The tube can be sealed of by removing it from the block and a little clear gasket material spread around it and in the hole then reassembled and allowed to cure. The area and small gap this holds for quite awhile if the leaks bothers you. I made some gas blocks that clamped the tube in place rather than pinned it. when the 6 4-40 screws were tightened up it sealed up really good.

wyrmzr
04-04-2016, 04:44 PM
I was actually wondering whether this wasn't just a slightly out of spec tube or gas block; it is pinned in place, and when running H335 behind 55 grain FMJBT bullets, the lowest recommended load of around 25.4 grains of powder functions flawlessly. Any more powder than that, and all I get is a fireball, with the same point of impact.