PDA

View Full Version : WW Etiquette

JAbee
03-24-2016, 06:12 PM
I'm a newbie to casting and to collecting WW from local tire shops. I've been fortunate and have had some success collecting, but while taking to one shop owner he mentioned that he also has another guy that stops in every few months for his weights. I was wondering if there are some unspoken "rules" for collecting weights. Don't want to start out on a bad note.

clintsfolly
03-24-2016, 06:34 PM
In SC it,s ok but in Mi will get you frown at! Really. You have to trust your gut and the body language / tone of the seller! I have one that I share with someone so I hit then when I can and get what I can. I also give more then the scrap yards and drop off donuts. Had one spot that gave me the WW and I just drop off donuts on my way to work. Was a win win till their buckets got to be 75% steel/zinc

mfraser264
03-25-2016, 10:47 AM
Agree with clintsfolly, make it a "win" for them and they will buy into the arrangement. I pay more than what my WW supplier could get at the scrap yard and save them the hassle of taking the weights in. Basically it a relationship, do the nice unexpected things like donuts or a couple of $5 pizza's that will go a long way. Try 3 places and those that say "no" go back to in a couple of weeks to prove your are serious and always leave a contact number and and always thank them for their time.

imashooter2
03-25-2016, 11:14 AM
There are no rules. Get what you can where you can. If the other guy had an exclusive relationship the dealer would have turned you away.

JonB_in_Glencoe
03-25-2016, 11:40 AM
Disclaimer: I don't search out WW anymore, too many zinc'rs.