PDA

View Full Version : Chainsaws

quilbilly
03-24-2016, 11:48 AM
I have been hearing that many of the newer Stihl chainsaws are harder to start than the older ones. I recently replaced my old reliable Stihl with a new Farmboss model and it is a real PITA to get running (once going it has been great). Has anyone else experienced this?

NY_Treeguy
03-24-2016, 12:05 PM
Most of our saws are Stihl. (I'm a professional arborist) I haven't seen a difference. Does the saw have a compression release?

Saws also loose compression over time. Could be the old saw had lower compression = easier pulling to start.

What model Farmboss did you get?

garym1a2
03-24-2016, 01:52 PM
I do not know about the news ones, but my old ms310 and 390 are bears to start.

horsesoldier
03-24-2016, 02:49 PM
My 362c and my 461 are super easy to start

5Shot
03-24-2016, 02:58 PM
If anything is to blame, it would be the EPA...too much **** add ons to meet their requirements.

Houndog
03-24-2016, 03:44 PM
I've got a 360 and a 445 Stihl and I don't find either one of them particulary hard to start. The old 55 Husky Rancher I also own is a BEAR to start!

FergusonTO35
03-24-2016, 03:59 PM
Alot of saws come with carbs set too lean from the factory to meet smog regs. Most of them can be adjusted with a little ingenuity. I think the electronic carbs such as Husqvarna's Autotune are the way to go, hopefully they will start trickling down to the cheaper models soon.

quilbilly
03-24-2016, 04:05 PM
Mine is the 290. Like my previous saw, once the engine starts, you have to flip a switch from start mode to run mode. My old reliable gave me a few seconds to flip the switch and activate the throttle. With the new model, I have to be greased lightening to get that switch flipped before the engine floods. If there is a second person is there with his (her) hand on the switch as soon as I pull the cord, no problem. By myself it is an exercise in frustration.

AK Caster
03-24-2016, 04:28 PM