PDA

View Full Version : I want to know the who, what, where, when and why of a Gunsmithing Lathe

waarp8nt
03-22-2016, 05:28 PM
The title says it all, but I want to explain with a little back story.

I currently own a South Bend 9" lathe. I have some experience working with a metal lathe, wood lathe, router tables, milling machines, brake lathe and valve grinding machines from both work and at home as a hobby. I know that I can read blueprints, measure things and do minor work with a good deal of accuracy. I have not worked on CNC machines, I am not FFL licensed and do not intend to work for others at this time. I do, however, want to be able to work on my own stuff and leaning mostly toward muzzeloading work for myself.

I want a bigger lathe. Something I can chuck a barrel through the center of the headstock or mount between centers as needed. A friend had a South Bend heavy 10, but the 13 inch looks nice as well. Clausing made or makes a 12 inch, but the Atlas part of Atlas/Clausing turns me away unless some can speak up. Leblond...I have not been around one since shop days in high school.

I am looking for advice from an experienced machinist or gunsmith about what route to take. I will have to sell off a few things to finance the project, so I am willing to go all in at this point with a budget of more than 2k, but less than 5k. From looking online, I am certain I can find a quality used product in that price range. I prefer used, in fact, the old quality made in USA equipment for many reasons.

Suggestions anyone?

dtknowles
03-22-2016, 06:26 PM
There is a 20 foot Leblond on the shop floor outside my office at work, I have never seen anyone use it :-)

Tim

Zaneiel
03-22-2016, 06:33 PM
Allot of gunsmith lathes are around 10 or 12 swing with 36" between centers. 1.5" through hole should accommodate but as you well know most barrels aren't that large.