PDA

View Full Version : Working up new loads would like advice on proper procedure

Strtspdlx
03-22-2016, 09:53 AM
I do have load data at home and I've only ever reloaded Fmj 223. Now I'm starting to reload for 45 acp and 40 s&w. The 45 is using cast 230 tc Lee mold and the 40 is also a Lee but 175gr swc. I bought cci primers for there respective cartridge and accurate #7 powder for both. I have all cases deprived and sized. I belled 20 45 cases for the lead. I should have my powder today. Starting load is 9.9gr and Max is something like 11-11.5 but I will verify that today. I'm not overly concerned with 40 right now because that's for my wife and is still like to get a barrel before I shoot lead through her glock 22. The 45 is an m&p 4.5" barrel
Questions-
1. Is it necessary to clean primer pockets?
2. I figured I'd start for 45 at 10gr then 10.5,11,11.5 or should I not worry about getting too worked up about it?
3. I'm very new to reloading 6-8 months into it. I know about the measurements outlined in load data and I've already made sure the cash boolit fits my barrel. Is there anything else I should be checking or double checking? Also if there's anything you'd like to ad please do. The more I learn the better I'll be.

wl620
03-22-2016, 11:56 AM
I have shot quite a bit of 7 in a 45 acp with good results overall but mosly with 200 gr. boolits and hornady xtp in my 1911's it seems the book load of 11.5 max is a little hot in my guns even with 200 gr. boolits or jacketed. I personally dont feel its necessary to clean primer pockets with plinking ammo but i normally clean my acp brass in between firings reason no.1 being they are usually dirty number 2 being i like to keep them shiny so i can find them.