PDA

View Full Version : Custom Bisley 45 accuracy issue

4bisley5
03-20-2016, 05:43 PM
Have a question about bullet hardness. This may not be the correct location to post this question but here goes. I'm new to cast shooting. The last 30 years has been just reloading jacketed in my 44 and 41 mags. Never had a concern with accuracy as they all seemed to shoot well.
I have a Ruger Bisley Clements Custom conversion chambered in 45 Colt and decided to try moving strictly to cast. The gun will flat out shoot like crazy when I have it loaded full throttle. I'm trying to load these down to a standard type loading. I'm getting to where I dislike the thunder and need a milder shooting load.
The current load this revolver loves is:

270 grain Keith from Leadhead sized .452 (BHN 21)
24.0 grains IMR 4227
CCI 350
Starline cases

Accuracy drops off to a terrible level when loaded with some mild loads of Unique and Power Pistol. I've been testing the loads from the Brian Pearce article on that bullet.

Now for my question. Is BHN 21 too hard for lower pressure velocities and shooting? I've read about it elsewhere but would really like to here it from some of folks that may have experienced the same. I assumed that if you have proper dimensions it wouldn't be an issue.

Thanks for your suggestions.

Mark

Tatume
03-20-2016, 06:44 PM
No. You should be able to find a load the gun likes with that bullet, if it fits your throats. Have you checked your throat diameter? I suspect you have a good fit, as Clements probably wouldn't cut them too large, but it's worthwhile to check anyway.

How much Unique have you tried. PM me and I'll tell you what I use.

Take care, Tom

RobS
03-20-2016, 07:02 PM