PDA

View Full Version : A great big "Thank you" to all you who have posted about PIDs

Chris C
03-18-2016, 04:23 PM
I received my first PID a few days ago. Finally got to do some casting today. Before reading about PID controllers here on the forum, I'd never heard of them. I haven't been casting long.........in fact I'm just getting started and have been having a heck of a time obtaining any real consistency. Well, let me tell you, I just cast 125 of the most beautiful .357 Keith SWC bullets I've ever seen, and better than any bullets I've ever cast. Took me a while to find the right temp to run the lead, but when I hit it, it was like nirvana! I'm waiting on a BallistiScale and will weigh them to check their consistency. Talk about a happy camper!!!!! Thanks to all of you, and thanks to Mark Read for making the PID. Yah-hoo! :guntootsmiley:

Friar_Tuck
03-18-2016, 09:17 PM
Amazing aren't they? I would not be without one now!

Chris C
03-18-2016, 11:10 PM
Unbelievable, for sure. I agree with you.

retread
03-19-2016, 12:23 AM
I have two pots with a PID on each. The only way I would go back is the loss of electrical power, then it might be a wood fire and a thermometer! Hope that never happens for long. Glad to hear you made the plunge, you will never regret it.

Walter Laich
03-19-2016, 09:29 AM
Same here as to learning about PIDs. I have one on casting pot and one on powder coating oven. They really add to enjoyment of casting bullets

Chris C
03-19-2016, 02:00 PM