PDA

View Full Version : Bottom pour to ladle

melloairman
03-16-2016, 10:42 PM
I have been using my bottom pouring Lee pots for over 9 years . The last two days I have been using my RCBS bottom pour ladle. I believe I like it better because I do not have to lean over to watch the pour . Which I have been doing to keep any dripping from splashing in my face . Pulled one of my 3 pots apart and removed the linkage and welded the spout closed . Should be easier to cast with out all that linkage in the way . I know a replacement pot is $17.00 . It would not be here tomorrow .Marvin

melloairman
04-01-2016, 10:35 PM
I have been ladle pouring long enough now to know I am enjoying casting more . I am getting better base fill out and fewer rejects now as well . I now have 2 pots with the linkage removed and the spout welded closed . I have been able to lower my pot temp 50 degrees as well with my unknown range lead mix .Marvin

country gent
04-01-2016, 11:18 PM
Depending on the bullets your pouring, bigger or longer bullets the ladle works well. I have 2 rcbs ladles and 1 lyman ladle I have opened the spouts up to ..210 dia with a drill to help increase the flow. I also polished these with a dremill tool and cupped wire brush with a fine lapping compound, helps stop sticking. I have a new rowel #1 size but havent tried it yet. I cast big heavy long bullets and these mods have added consistancy to my casting. I also added a stop collar on the shaft of my ladles. this provides a "hook" to catch the edge of the big pot I cast out of keeping the ladle from falling in to the wood handle. I get better results with the ladle also.

gwpercle
04-02-2016, 08:01 PM
I'm a ladler too. Tried the bottom pour route and just didn't care for it. I make more and better boolits with the lyman spouted ladle and pressure casting. You are not alone !
Gary

melloairman
04-02-2016, 10:22 PM