PDA

View Full Version : Need lubrisizer recommendations

Js-Shot
03-13-2016, 12:47 AM
I have been reading reviews on midway, some love the Lyman 4500 and some can't stand it, same with all the others, have been casting little over a year and have been lubing with a 90/10 mixture of beeswax and lithium grease, works,just messy.
I'm new to a lubrisizer and have some reservations about jumping in without getting some advice here

fryboy
03-13-2016, 01:01 AM
so ...what kind of advice are you looking for ???
perhaps i should ask what kind of sizing/swaging and lubing are you doing ? mostly pistols ? rifles ? hard sizing ? barely sizing ? the better we know your needs the better of an opinion we can suggest [shrugz]
from the sounds of it your lube is hard ( most run 50/50 or 60-ish/40-ish ) if it is hard then you'll need a heater , the 4500 has a hole for one , the others need a heated base
my personal preference is the lyman #45 but .. it isnt the heaviest duty of things , i like the 450 and 4500 ok ( with the newer improved linkage style that's now on the 4500 ) i also prefer the rcbs lam I as opposed to the lamII but ... these are my opinions and for my uses , given normal type sizing and lubing i'm grabbing a #45
to be fair ...the saeco reminds me of the older ideal #1 but stronger ( and it also takes special dies and top punches )

retread
03-13-2016, 01:20 AM
I started out with a Lyman 450. I used most of the standard lubes ( I still use randyrat's TAC=1 and Tac-X when using traditional lubes). Mostly I Powder Coat and use Lee push through sizing dies. They are inexpensive and quick. You also have the option to tumble lube with Lee Alox, White Label, or Ben's liquid lube(BLL). If you want to stay with standard lubes the Lyman or RCBS are fine. The Star is better but you are going to pay for it and keep on paying as your caliber collection increases.

StuBach
03-13-2016, 08:00 AM