PDA

View Full Version : Range lead fiasco. Help!

Appalachian American
03-09-2016, 04:52 PM
I got about 1500-2000 lb of "lead" given to me. Dirty is not even close to what this is. Some has set up like concrete. When I have tried to smelt it almost has been absorbing into this powdery dirt looking stuff. I am assuming the concrete is lead oxide. This dirt is like I am turning it back into ore. I have a small cast iron pot with a lid and a 500K BTU burner. I tried sawdust and wax, maybe not enough. Lid on lid off. The dirt is crazy heavy. I am a welder not a chemist but I think I need to deoxygenate the lead. Anybody got a clue that can point me in the right direction?

Smoke4320
03-09-2016, 05:34 PM
several good pics of the lead in raw form and in the pot might help

bangerjim
03-09-2016, 05:50 PM
Your are more into alchemy than re-melting lead there! Sorry to hear you have such a mess on your hands. Sometimes "free" is not always free.

Mother Earth tries, over time, to take back what was mined out of her and you have an excellent example there!

Getting really badly oxidized Pb back into a liquid metal may be beyond a home-brew set-up. Most of us have messed with mild surface oxides and the internal Pb melts out when heated, leaving the oxide powder behind. What you have may be beyond salvaging. Give us some pictures as Smoke said.

I, for one, would probably sell it to a scrap yard.............and run with the money they gave me!

bangerjim

Bent Ramrod
03-09-2016, 06:07 PM
I use Marvelux for really dirty lead, like range lead with sand and dirt in it. It's messier than sawdust or candle wax, but the lead is a mess anyway, and the Marvelux does go for the dirt and oxides. Scrape the sides of your pot to get the adhered black goo off afterwards. There will be some drops of good lead in the scraped off Marvelux melt and you can break it up when cooled and reclaim some if it if you really want to.

lightman
03-09-2016, 07:16 PM