PDA

View Full Version : .401 long nose mold for 1911 platforms; recommendations?

whitedingo
02-16-2016, 10:21 PM
This is my first post on the site; been reading for a while and I'm pretty new to casting in general. Got my feet wet with some 125gr .356s (9mm and .38 Super) and 175gr SWC .401 (.40 minor and major) bullets, but now I'm looking for something to cast that I can load longer for my 1911s and 2011s in .40 S&W. The 175s feed ok, but feed clunky at the OAL needed to chamber check when compared to commercially available 180 and 200gr projectiles (coated or jacketed)

I've been browsing the available mold diagrams on Accurate's website, and found two that are listed that I think may work; about .320" long noses on each of them which should allow me to load out to 1.200 without leade/throat issues in any of the three firearms I will be using them in.

I was hoping that some of the more experienced casters and loaders might take a look at the two designs and perhaps make a recommendation, even if it's something completely different.
I am powder coating the projectiles, so the lack of lube groove on the one is no issue.

The two molds are:
http://www.accuratemolds.com/bullet_detail.php?bullet=40-190D-D.png
http://www.accuratemolds.com/bullet_detail.php?bullet=40-180M-D.png

shooter93
02-18-2016, 07:58 PM
Welcome to the site. I shoot 200 gr. in a 10 mm 1911 so my bullet doesn't help you much but.....what I often go is contact Tom at Accurate molds. Tell him what gun, weight and diameter you want etc. and even the oal you need. He will recommend a mold and cut it to your size and you will have it quickly. It works very well. He's very good at it and I have never been disappointed with his recommendations.

whitedingo
02-20-2016, 12:29 AM
Thanks for the welcome; I've found this site to be an absolute wealth of information.

I will try and contact Tom and see what recommendation he might have, thank you for the tip.

Bigslug
02-21-2016, 11:46 AM