PDA

View Full Version : New computer antivirus software advice - HELP!!

retread
02-14-2016, 01:27 AM
I have been running Norton 360 on all three of my computers. Seems to really slow things down and it is not cheap. I need some good alternatives that will give me protection without casting an arm and a leg. Any Suggestions.

CGT80
02-14-2016, 01:48 AM
Eset smart security

My neighbor is a computer programmer and runs police communications equipment for a living. He recommended it years ago and it beats norton, mcaffee and the others I have tried. Eset seems to have a great track record and it does not slow the computer down. I have built my own computers since the 90's and seem to be the go to guy for friends and family who get stuck on them, but I am not a pro at computers.

I use eset on my android phone and tablet as well.

Boolit_Head
02-14-2016, 02:42 AM
Microsoft security essentials is decent considering the cost. Won't slow things down a bunch.

Ken in Iowa
02-14-2016, 10:23 AM
Kaspersky is what I'm using now. I left Norton long ago.

MrWolf
02-14-2016, 11:28 AM
Kaspersky is what I'm using now. I left Norton long ago.

Same here. Only issues I have are when time to upgrade it sometimes causes problems with installation as it thinks prior version is still there.

gwpercle
02-14-2016, 11:50 AM
I use these for office and home computers. Our computer service guy, Tim, advised using them and they are free!
Download for free at www.timpc.com (http://www.timpc.com) or at www.filehippo.com (http://www.filehippo.com) these three:

CCleaner
Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
Super Antispyware

We downloaded the programs from Tims PC site, my secretary runs them manually, my son installed them on our home computer and they run automatically .
Gary

pcolapaddler
02-14-2016, 11:56 AM
We use Symantec at work; it is a bit pricey. I use Kaspersky at home. Kaspersky is decently priced. I have used the free MS Security Essentials or whatever it is currently named - Defender?