PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning Solvents - Back to Hoppes #9

Sam Casey
02-09-2016, 09:30 PM
Tried some Ballistol. Cleaned 2 38's after a weekend of shooting. Did not care for smell and cleaning action was less than spectacular. Have used Hoppes for years and prefer it. Tried the B product because it was touted as cleaner and lubricant/preservative. Concluded I'd rather add a little oil as final step with Hoppes than deal with bad smell of Ballistol.

tazman
02-09-2016, 09:33 PM
Ballistol doesn't seem to exist around here. I have been using Hoppes for 40 years. It does a good job for me.

smoked turkey
02-09-2016, 09:42 PM
I tend to agree that Hoppes 9 does a good job. Folks that have been using it for years and years say they have changed the formula and it doesn't do as good a job as that of yesteryear. It may not but Hoppes still does pretty good for me. I will say that I also like and use Ballistol especially for black powder swabbing and cleaning. I am different in that I do like the smell of Ballistol almost as much as the old original Hoppes #9. For me two smells I really like are the smell of leather and the old Hoppes #9 formula.

OilyPablo
02-09-2016, 09:56 PM
Ballistol does nothing well. Waste of money. I clean with Hoppe's with a shot Kroil mixed in. I lube with the correct lubricant for the gun and the weather. I rust preserve mostly with CorrosionX. Eezox is a good preservative too, but it's nasty toxic.

jhaston
02-09-2016, 10:01 PM
I go through a couple bottles of Hoppes #9 a year, I haven't tried very many others, I guess if it ain't broke don't fix it.

Outpost75
02-09-2016, 10:03 PM
I mix my own Ed's Red. Works for me

country gent
02-09-2016, 10:04 PM