PDA

View Full Version : Horrible freight media

salpal48
02-03-2016, 10:33 AM
I recently was @ horrible freight and they had walnut media on sale. . I normally use Zilla. Or get my Course special blend grit from Cramer Industries which. is close Buy. For 15.00 Bucks i got 25 lb of the fine.
I only Rotary tumble . I use a Sears Vertical 6lb and a Highland Park 12Lb Commercial Tumbler . Cases were dirty . and Un washed.. The results with that media was bad. after Overnight Tumble the cases were cleaned and polished very little. . Very dusty media , and useless. . The media seems to Break down to a fine Powder .
Anyone else Use this stuff
Sal

Kilroy08
02-03-2016, 11:10 AM
I've got a box of it that I've been working on for about the past 5 years. In my vibratory tumblers, a cap full or so of Nu Finish car polish and some mineral spirits will perk things up. Just make sure to let it run for about 20 minutes to mix things up before adding any brass.

lightman
02-03-2016, 11:31 AM
I've never used Harbor Freight. I got my Corncob from a place called Drillspot, but it shipped from Granger.

RogerDat
02-03-2016, 11:35 AM
I've got a box of it that I've been working on for about the past 5 years. In my vibratory tumblers, a cap full or so of Nu Finish car polish and some mineral spirits will perk things up. Just make sure to let it run for about 20 minutes to mix things up before adding any brass.

With walnut shell I saw a suggestion to use the approach suggested by kilroy08 and it does work much better. Maybe a shot glass worth of mineral spirits and a drizzle of Nu Finish (orange bottle car polish) and the dust is a non-issue plus it just works a lot better. I don't mix for 20 minutes at least not after the initial treatment. Maybe 3 - 5 minutes each time I add a "fresher" to the mix. I'm using the Zilla from the pet store.

flyingmonkey35
02-03-2016, 11:43 AM
Zilla from the pet store and a half a dryer sheet for the dust.

rbuck351
02-03-2016, 11:57 AM