PDA

View Full Version : long range shooting my H&R 45-70

crackerjack57
02-01-2016, 07:22 PM
Im just getting into shooting my 45-70 H&R buffalo classic with the 32" barrel with black. im loading both 2f and 3f with magnum primers. roughly 68 gn of powder under a milk carton wad compressed and a lee 405 HB cast bullet. with any of my other rifles i would never hold or touch the barrel when firing so as not to throw my aim off as this can change your point of impact. im looking at YouTube videos of people shooting some long barreled rifles and seeing them resting their barrel close to the barrel end in a leather saddle on the shooting sticks. i like the idea as could make for a much tighter group but always thought "don't touch the barrel when shooting. let it free float!"

do I have it all wrong or does black powder affect barrel ring differently.

Thanx all.

country gent
02-01-2016, 07:51 PM