PDA

View Full Version : In the market for a new pistol scope

Newtire
04-25-2008, 09:20 AM
Since my Swift brand pistol scope died & the Swift folks won't help me out with replacement or warantee-even if I pay (since I bought the scope used), I am in the market for a Bushnell scope.

I have one of the Firefly reticle ones mounted on a rifle I have & it is top notch. I hear the regular 2X6 Bushnell is a great one so was looking at buying one of those but seeing as how they are selling a Firefly reticle one for the same price, thought it might be a good one also.

Anyone have any advice would appreciate it.

Thanks,
Newtire

454PB
04-25-2008, 01:30 PM
I'm no expert on pistol scopes, I've only scoped one revolver in my life. I bought a BSA pistol scope (cheap) and mounted it on my Ruger SRH .454 Casull. It took 5 shots to destroy it, and BSA replaced it quickly. Put the new one on and it took another 10 shots to destroy it. OK, I'm getting the picture here. I replaced it with a Weaver scope, which has held up for about 100 rounds so far, and has a good reputation. If it fails, I'm done with scoping pistols.

MT Gianni
04-25-2008, 02:01 PM
I put a Leopold 2x on a super blackhawk. It shrunk my groups by 1/2, made it ackward to carry and target aquisition in the field was 3-4 times as long. I sold it and have not regretted it. Gianni

45nut
04-25-2008, 02:37 PM
I'm no expert on pistol scopes, I've only scoped one revolver in my life. I bought a BSA pistol scope (cheap) and mounted it on my Ruger SRH .454 Casull. It took 5 shots to destroy it, and BSA replaced it quickly. Put the new one on and it took another 10 shots to destroy it. OK, I'm getting the picture here. I replaced it with a Weaver scope, which has held up for about 100 rounds so far, and has a good reputation. If it fails, I'm done with scoping pistols.