PDA

View Full Version : Bullet weight/design questions for my new 45-70.

Echale3
01-28-2016, 11:56 PM
ok, I scored a Uberti 1885 High Wall in 45-70 off Gunbroker.com. My experience with BPCR reloading has been with a Rolling Block in 40-70 SS using a custom made LBT 400 grain WLN so I have the basics down, plus I've been reloading smokeless for 35+ years and shot cast bullets exclusively in IHMSA competition.

What I'm curious about is what weight bullet and design I should go with in this rifle.

I'm looking at buckets in the 400-500 grain range. The twist rate is 1:20 and I'm thinking, based on what I've read and calculated, that 500 grains should be about max for this rifle.

I intend on hunting with it, not shooting silhouettes, maxing out at about 200 yards, and will use either 20:1 or ACWW, probably 20:1. I'm a big proponent of a wide meplat in my 35 and under caliber cast bullets using ACWW, but with 20:1, I'm thinking that the meplat thing might not be as critical since 20:1 should mushroom pretty effectively even on deer-sized game.

Anyway, what's the collective wisdom regarding a bullet weight/design?

rfd
01-29-2016, 06:37 AM
for hunting, and really good accuracy out to and just past 200 yards, i found it hard to beat the value and performance if the lyman #457193 that'll drop with 1:20 alloy at just above 400 grains, and has a decent meplat flat nose.

http://i.imgur.com/fkTgFZU.jpg

Hiwall55
01-29-2016, 07:34 AM
Try the 400 grain RCBS-GC. I've yet to find one that won't shoot that one.

Jeff Houck
01-29-2016, 09:42 PM
ok, I scored a Uberti 1885 High Wall in 45-70 off Gunbroker.com. My experience with BPCR reloading has been with a Rolling Block in 40-70 SS using a custom made LBT 400 grain WLN so I have the basics down, plus I've been reloading smokeless for 35+ years and shot cast bullets exclusively in IHMSA competition.

What I'm curious about is what weight bullet and design I should go with in this rifle.