PDA

View Full Version : mirocu 45-90

bignut
01-28-2016, 12:25 AM
Hello, I am completely new to this sport. I have a Winchester bpcr in 45-90. I have heard they have a different chamber than most, and different than the same rifle in 45-70. Just to try something different I would like to shoot paper patch. Always thought they looked neat. I haven't been able to dig up info on this particular rifle in regards to pp bullets. Is this chamber suitable to pp or should a guy stick to gg. Thanks in advance.

boommer
01-28-2016, 04:47 AM
Here you go I have a Win bpcr Creedmoor 45-90 they have more free bore in them. I just got started with pp and first go around pp was with 444-dia 550 gr slug, buffalo arms paper .030 card 2 wraps with the paper brought it up to .450 perfect 90 grs Swiss 1.5 /BR2 primer /compressed powder so the bullet sets .250 in the case and taper crimp They shot great, right with or close with my greaser loads.FOR A FIRST TRY not bad !!

bignut
01-29-2016, 12:43 AM
Thank you very much boomer, I really appreciate your reply! Sounds like it is worth a try, so I'm going to giver a whirl[smilie=2: I have heard so much misinformation about these chambers its hard to figure them out for a beginner.
Seems a little hard to get questions answered here for me. I see posts that say ask specific questions to get answers, research etc.. . But when you don't have a good idea how to ask specific questions and only want general info its kinda hard. Also not much info on this caliber/gun combo.

Nobade
01-29-2016, 08:27 AM
Look up texasmac on this forum - he's the expert on these rifles. Even wrote the book on them!

-Nobade

boommer
01-29-2016, 09:04 AM