PDA

View Full Version : Getting into a 550B

swmass
01-26-2016, 11:51 PM
Hey all, I've been loading on my little lee challenger press for about 2 years and have cranked some serious firepower out of that little press. I reload and shoot a lot. Naturally I'm looking into getting a progressive press but it seems like theres more info out there on the lee presses and cheaper options than the progressives.

I've seen people online claiming a Dillon 550B would cost them over a grand?? then I go online, I believe the site is brian enos or something like that and see them for 400-500.

So, my main question is why do you select a caliber when purchasing a press? Does that mean it will come equipped ready to reload for that round? I understand the "tool heads", but wouldnt the tool head be the same no matter what caliber you are loading for?

Is there a special die used to drop powder? I've noticed you can buy these "conversions" for different calibers that run about 100-120 dollars. What separates these between purchasing a tool head and just popping my dies in them?

Lastly, how does the powder drop system work. I'm assuming I can't just pop the powder drop onto my lee expander die and go at it because it seems like theres more going on than that.

Sorry if I'm throwing a lot out there, I reload for 9mm, 38/357, and 45 so I'm trying to get a grasp on how much I really need to get to get going and if it would be worth it versus using they ole single stage which has proven to be very good to me

labradigger1
01-27-2016, 12:12 AM
550' go for 375-500$, not $1000.
Choose the caliber you want to load first or more frequently,
You will not use the Lee die with the Dillon,
Dillion's use a powder die that has a "flared" hollow piece that expands the neck and activates the powder measure.
Caliber conversions come with everything you need to change calibers including powder funnels, these run anywhere from $30 up. Check Dillion's website for conversions as they are usually cheaper.