PDA

View Full Version : job decision/what would you do

rancher1913
01-23-2016, 12:09 AM
currently work of the ranch in the oil patch as the ranch does not make enough to support us. I really like my crew, just 5 of us and we all pull together very well (we operate a coil unit for fish jobs and drill outs). I'm not that young anymore and the 15 hour days get old and with the current economy I could be laid off anytime. when we work we make good money. got offered a job at denver international airport that pays good and has good hours but its an hour drive each way, steady job good benifits and kind of recession proof. the oil patch job is more lucrative and the airport is more steady.
I know there are several members here that work the oil patch and wonder if you could, would you jump ship if given a chance, I'm torn about abandoning my crew but need to look out for my family.

Greg S
01-23-2016, 12:39 AM
I here ya and facing sorta the same situation. I'm a steel painter (picture carnival worker) and travel extensively for work doing field re-paints. My body is doing better the past two years with 10 x 6 scheduales instead of 7 x 12s. My next job/career is going to be cloe to the house. 10-15 min, 20 max and no rush hour. I'd take a cut in pay over dealing with an hour in and 1.5 to 2.5 home in the evening.

Leaving the crew behind is a tough one. As far as employers, very few are loyal. If they have no work, they lay you off. Wasn't too much of a problem before, as long as you could keep your bases covered you were good. Now, with Ooobo care, fines ect. it is impossible. Steady 9-5 work is the safe bet.

Only you can make that decision for yourself, your family and your financial situation.

phonejack
01-23-2016, 01:09 AM
Family first, no regrets

hithard
01-23-2016, 01:19 AM
Slow and steady...go to the airport.you'll always know where you stand. Keeping things steady in life cuts down on the drama. .

edler7
01-23-2016, 01:44 AM