PDA

View Full Version : 38-55 Highwall, 12 twist, 360 gr bullet, which BP do you recommend?

joelpend
01-20-2016, 07:41 PM
For those shooting 38-55 with heavy bullets, what is your recommended BP. I have some Goex 2F and some KIK 1.5. Only going to be shooting to 300 yards so probably don't need extra velocity but I have read that some use 3F in the 38-55. Just want to start where people have had success if possible. I am new to this BPCR stuff, years of shooting and reloading the modern stuff and now a whole different thing to learn. Thanks in advance for your replies.

SSGOldfart
01-20-2016, 07:44 PM
2F would be my choice.

country gent
01-20-2016, 09:03 PM
When my rifle is done I plan on trying Swiss and old ensford 1.5f and 2f in it under 335 grn and 360 grn bullets.

Hiwall55
01-20-2016, 09:35 PM
Try what you have. I shoot 2fg Goex and Swiss 1.5 in my 38s with 335 grain and 360 grain money bullets .I have a David Mos 330 grain snover bullet that is really accurate.

Don McDowell
01-20-2016, 10:12 PM
I prefer the KIK over regular Goex, but next time you buy powder might want to try some Olde Eynsford in the 2f.

Jeff Houck
01-20-2016, 11:50 PM
For those shooting 38-55 with heavy bullets, what is your recommended BP. I have some Goex 2F and some KIK 1.5. Only going to be shooting to 300 yards so probably don't need extra velocity but I have read that some use 3F in the 38-55. Just want to start where people have had success if possible. I am new to this BPCR stuff, years of shooting and reloading the modern stuff and now a whole different thing to learn. Thanks in advance for your replies.

I use Goex Old Enysford 2F in my 38-55 with a 350 gr. bullet. I've never lost a ram with it. I've also shot long range Buffalo to 1200 yards with it. It was a BIG buffalo!

BrentD
01-21-2016, 09:09 AM