PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions

BooneTahoe
01-17-2016, 01:32 PM
I apologize if these questions are answered elsewhere. I couldn't find them.

I'm a survival writer and I'm getting into BP cartridge loading as part of a series I'm writing called "Forever Gun." Basically, the idea is to build guns that would rule the world if all ammunition were gone. My thought is that the last rifles, during the transition between muzzle-loading and cartridge-loading, would be the best, fastest shooting options that would still utilize BP. Right now, my best guess is:

.45/70 gvmt for a repeating rifle, and
.50 Sharps for a single-shot rifle.

If so, I'd like to buy ideal representations of both of these. Which repeating rifle would you suggest? Which Sharps? Which is the best manufacturer (regardless of cost) of replica Sharps? Should I be looking at replicas or try to find an original?

Also, I'd like to look at revolvers. What would your recommend in a BP cartridge revolver?

I'm sure these are huge questions with many varieties of answers, but I need a good starting point. I'm going to wade into bullet casting, loading, etc..

Thanks!!

Gunlaker
01-17-2016, 06:09 PM
Most of the questions will have a lot of answers, but in my option Shiloh is at the top of the pile when it comes to Sharps rifles. I've owned a Pedersoli, and have several Shiloh's and C. Sharps 1874's. I liked them all, but the Shiloh is easily the best.

I'm sure that some will take exception to that.

If all of the ammunition were gone, wouldn't primers and percussion caps be gone too? I'd want a flint lock....

Chris.

BooneTahoe
01-17-2016, 06:33 PM
Most of the questions will have a lot of answers, but in my option Shiloh is at the top of the pile when it comes to Sharps rifles. I've owned a Pedersoli, and have several Shiloh's and C. Sharps 1874's. I liked them all, but the Shiloh is easily the best.

I'm sure that some will take exception to that.