PDA

View Full Version : Any small engine experts on the board? Need help with an old carb

9w1911
01-13-2016, 09:15 PM
I have a "Leak Jet" it needs a lot of work and leaks like a siv. Looking for advice. I decided I wanted to buy and "restore" an old snow blower with a 8hp B&S.

Wouldnt you know it, I very nice newer one is up for sale now similar price I paid for the older one, UGH.

Please Pm me I may forget to check this thread.

Mica_Hiebert
01-13-2016, 09:27 PM
Leaks gas or oil? I'm by no means an expert but I am too cheap to pay some one to fix something that I can. I got a free rototiller that sounded like a Harley Davidson at idle. I replaced the carb seals for $13 and it ran like brand new when I got done.

rancher1913
01-13-2016, 11:18 PM
just googled "leak jet" and it had videos and sites just for rebuilding them. wish I was smart enough to post links for you.

JonB_in_Glencoe
01-13-2016, 11:25 PM
Leak Jet ?

badbob454
01-13-2016, 11:29 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pzWNmFoba0 just look at the video copy the search bar and paste on the quick reply thread , hope this helps

9w1911
01-13-2016, 11:46 PM
Yea I looked at some of the vids, the carb is leaking fuel, form what I researched it is the jet adjustment for my symptom, yet i have not cracked it open and I am afraid the previous owner just warped the needle in the jet, I am hoping it is just dirty

RogerDat
01-13-2016, 11:55 PM
Mine does the same thing, there is a fuel cut off just under the tank. I shut it off when I'm not using it so it doesn't leak. Running it does not seem to leak, or if it does it is so slowly I don't notice it. Even if I leave it sitting for a bit while I move the car.

Been meaning to fix it but..... Ran entirely different once I added an air filter cover and modest air filter. Guess they figured in the snow they did not need to worry about dust?

shaggybull
01-14-2016, 12:01 AM