PDA

View Full Version : HF dual chamber rock cleaner for wet tumbling

Jal5
01-11-2016, 09:10 PM
Wow I should have done this long ago! On sale at Christmas plus SS PINS ordered online plus Dawn dish soap and a few drops of lemon concentrate. 1.5 hr tumble then rinse while separating pins out using the plastic media separator fitted on a 3 gal pail. They are airing to dry over night in the garage. 100 approx 9 mm brass in each chamber.

Learned to not overload them it was a little too heavy to run both chambers at once so did them separate. Will put fewer brass and pins in each next time.

mac60
01-11-2016, 09:49 PM
I've been using one for several years - never a problem with it, still on the original belt. I use it without ss pins though. Hot water - as hot as I can get it from the tap, a squirt of dawn, a pinch of lemishine and a spritz of super clean. I recently got me a Frankford Arsenal tumbler - it came with the pins, but I don't use 'em. The drama of separating the pins from the brass is just too much for me. Lyman has a new rotary tumbler out now. I believe it comes as a kit and one of the things included is a separator with 2 "baskets" - the bottom one catches the pins. It looks as if it takes all the drama out of it. Don't get me wrong here - the results using the pins can't be denied, the cases come out looking brand new. It's just the separating the pins from the brass that puts me off.

MrWolf
01-11-2016, 10:08 PM
Same one I have and I love it. Try a cheap food dehydrator(don't use for food again), set it on about 100 degrees and say good night. Next morning nice and dry.

fragman
01-11-2016, 10:47 PM