PDA

View Full Version : To micro grove or not???? Marlin 45-70

Outer Rondacker
01-11-2016, 02:29 PM
Guys I have a chance to pick up a 45-70 in a marlin full size lever(22"barrel). Condition is good and I think the price is ok ($459). It is an older pre safety model. Only thing I am not sure about is the Micro Grove barrel and cast bullets. Now I have read post after post and I just can not get a FACT for an answer. Does a micro grove barrel play nice with cast bullets? What Lee mold works well for the 45-70 if any? Should I steer clear of a micro grove barrel? I am new to 45-70 round all together. Advice welcome and as always thanks in advance.

bikerbeans
01-11-2016, 03:13 PM
Micro groove and cast are fine IF you load the correct diameter boolit for your rifle. Many of the marlin leverguns require a bit larger diameter because the groove diameter is on the large side.

BB

Kestrel4k
01-11-2016, 03:18 PM
[...] Now I have read post after post and I just can not get a FACT for an answer.
That's because this is the Internet. ;)

Edward
01-11-2016, 03:19 PM
My 1895 pre safety shoots most any 300 to 420 grain lyman/ Lee/ Noe as long as they are sized .459/460 very accurate lever gun,buy it you will like it. And fun developing loads ,mouse fart to thumper ,it"s a long winter and the list of powder/boolit combos is endless ,love 45/70s

longbow
01-11-2016, 03:57 PM
I had a 1970's vintage Marlin 1895 with microgroove rifling and it shot cast boolits just fine. I didn't even know back then that I should slug the bore. I just shot as cast and got very good results using both the Lee 405 gr. flat point and Lyman 457124 385 gr. round nose.

I must have lucked out and gotten a "normal size barrel or moulds that cast as they should in my opinion, a little oversize so they can be sized back as required.

In my case, they shot well as cast and hand lubed.

Also, I tended to load as hot as the gun would handle and had no leading problems with PB boolits.