PDA

View Full Version : Lyman Mold

GypsmJim
01-09-2016, 08:41 PM
I've been using Lee molds for over 40 years. I like the fast warmup and never throw more than a few back in the pot when i get started. Sometimes the first one out is a keeper.

They don't make the mold I want. I had planned on buying a NOE mold based on info on this site, but then found a Lyman at XXX that would be suitable. The issue is I got a gift certificate for XXX for Christmas, and it would more than cover the cost of the mold and handles.

So, I'm torn between getting a free mold, or getting another aluminum one and having a gift certificate with no current need. Just how much heat up time is required with Lymans? Would I be satisfied with it after all these years of Lees?

Catshooter
01-10-2016, 03:46 AM
Jim,

I prefer iron moulds for their longevity and heat holding abilities. I used to hate how many boolits I had to throw away with them though.

On this site I learned of the cheap hot plate. Heaven sent. Now, I plug in the pot, and the hot plate with moulds on. By the time the pot is ready, so are the moulds and the Lymans with often give me keepers from the first ones. :)

Welcome to the site.

Cat

runfiverun
01-10-2016, 01:47 PM
the steel molds run about 50-f colder than a aluminum mold they also retain heat better so you can slow down your casting pace and turn down the alloy temp in the casting pot.
3-4 pours a minute is plenty to keep them running smoothly.

Le Loup Solitaire
01-10-2016, 10:10 PM