PDA

View Full Version : Purchase selection??

buggybuilder
01-09-2016, 04:44 PM
My son called me last night and said he wanted to purchase a handgun. He wants something in a semi-auto that is not a .22 LR but is still affordable to shoot (I will get him into casting). My thought would be a Springfield 1911 in a 9MM. Do these shoot cast bullets well? Any thoughts on Ruger or other manufacturers (Not Glock) that would handle cast bullets well?

straightwall
01-09-2016, 05:27 PM
I have an all-steel 9mm CZ 75B on layaway to replace one I sold years ago. It will shoot lead and it is an easy shooter. I can't wait! So... Maybe look at a CZ. [emoji4]

PerpetualStudent
01-09-2016, 05:33 PM
As a disclaimer: I'm very new to this world and have little real world experience.

That out of the way, my plan based on my reading is to try casting in .45 acp when I start trying to feed a semi-auto. Choosing an older slower bullet seems to lend itself to casting -- I'm sure more knowledgeable people will chime in and correct me on that. Of course I also want to share molds to cast for .45LC because that efficiency appeals to me.

MtGun44
01-09-2016, 06:07 PM
Another vote for the 1911 in .45 ACP. 9mm is THE MOST PITA to load with cast boolits of all of the
normal cartridges. .45 ACP is the EASIEST, if you taper crimp as a separate operation with an
old style taper crimp die which has a short TC section, not the newest ones with a continuous smooth
taper from one end to the other. Lack of or inadequate TC is the most common and simplest to fix
issue with .45 ACP ammo in a 1911. Load a H&G 68 (Lee is making what appears to be an accurate
copy, FINALLY) 200 SWC to 1.250-1.260 LOA, TC as a separate operation and you will be happy and
it will be dead reliable and accurate in most any new manufacture 1911.

Bill

redriverhunter
01-09-2016, 06:16 PM
I have loaded for a Springfield xd 9mm. I will say the 9mm in cast can be troublesome to reload.
rrh

straightwall
01-09-2016, 06:43 PM