PDA

View Full Version : Case cleaning. Tumbler or sonic?

KA0811
01-09-2016, 01:54 PM
First off let me say Hi, this is basically my first post. I have been trolling around for quite awhile reading stickys and post etc. Anyways I have been reloading for a couple years but recently I have gotten into it ALOT more but as of yet don't clean my cases aside from giving the outside a quick run while cleaning primer pockets etc. But now that I went from maybe using my set up once every few months to weekly/daily I think I really should. I wouldn't mind both but don't have the space. So what do you think? I was looking at either RCBS tumbler or the hornady LNL stainless or maybe rcbs sonic. Sorry such a long post for simple question. Thanks

ranger1962
01-09-2016, 02:01 PM
Harbor freight tools tumbler and ss pins. Best way I have found so far.

Pipefitter
01-09-2016, 04:40 PM
The question we should ask of you is "How much brass and what type are you looking to clean at one time?"

If you are cleaning a couple hundred pistol or less rifle cases at one time I would go with the Hornady stainless sonic unit (I have one). I deprime with a universal die then a bath in the sonic cleaner with distilled water, a teaspoon of Lemishine, and a couple drops of Dawn dish soap. rinse thoroughly with SOFT tap water and dry.

If you intend to clean 500-1,000 pistol cases or several hundred rifle cases at a time then a wet tumbler with SS pins or a vibratory case tumbler would be the way to go.

Be advised that the sonic cleaner and tumbling wet with SS pins will clean the primer pockets if you deprime first, where the vibratory tumbler will leave residue in the primer pockets.

KA0811
01-09-2016, 04:51 PM
Most likely I would doing smaller batches of hundred or two.

Eddie17
01-09-2016, 06:48 PM
frankford arsenal stainless steel tumbler

dannyd
01-09-2016, 07:00 PM
Frankford arsenal stainless steel tumbler works great using it right now.

Pee Wee
01-09-2016, 08:44 PM