PDA

View Full Version : Oiling the Bore?

ShooterAZ
01-09-2016, 01:00 PM
Guys, I'm new to muzzleloading. What are you guys using to oil the bore for long term storage? I hope I didn't commit a cardinal sin by using Rem Oil.

Squeeze
01-09-2016, 01:04 PM
nope, your fine. Just dry swab it out before the next loading. Or some alcohol then dry

Pipefitter
01-09-2016, 01:06 PM
Ear wax from a blind, left handed Norwegian watch maker.

Seriously, any good grade of oil, or patch lube will work.

country gent
01-09-2016, 01:09 PM
On my BPCR rifles after cleaning I work bullet lube into a patch and 3-5 passes back and forth thru bore. If long term ( over winter) I leave like this. If during shooting season I run a clean dry patch thru 2 strokes too lighten coating. I use either spg or emmerts Improved for this. The light coat can be left as a pre lubed condition with little effect

Tenbender
01-09-2016, 01:11 PM
Bore Butter

bigted
01-09-2016, 01:49 PM
I have been using the Rem spray for some years now to great effect.

I live in a very damp climat now and the Rem spray oil does a superb job. I clean with cool water with a small amount of dish soap and then after clean and dry ... I spray down with copious amounts of the Rem oil inside and out till it drips [either revolver or rifle]. then as stated above ... I wipe out the bore/cylinders till dry for loading and shooting.

never any rust if I have done my clean/lube in a meticulous manner and I have left my revolvers in an un-heated shed for months at a time with the damp western Oregon weather doing its best.

I have gotten some small amounts of rust when all I used was straight ballistol tho [sad to say] ... I really like the ballistol mixed with water for a very weak moose milk for cleaning as well and then I spray down now with just the rem oil and never have rust issues in any firearms shooting the real blackpowder.

Geezer in NH
01-09-2016, 01:51 PM
RIG, wipe out with a patch wet with alcohol before loading again