PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a little help with .308win PC load

BT8850
01-04-2016, 09:09 PM
I am doing some experimenting loading for a .308win, Its a cheapo stevens model 200. The cast boolit Im wanting to try is the Lee 312-155-2r, ESPC sized .311 with a hornady gas check. I've made up an inert dummy to check function and I am having to seat in the 2.600" COAL range to get the bolt to close. I have used this boolit in 300 black out with very good results (also had to load shorter than average OAL) and I have a stockpile of them so I would like to try and use them in other 30 caliber rifles. I am new to loading anything faster than 2200fps so I want to tread carefully. I am planning on using IMR 4064 but I also have a lb of CFE223 that I haven't played with yet as well as H335 a little H4350. Ideally i'd like to use up the 4064.

Any input on where to start charge wise would be greatly appreciated, Hogdons website shows a 155g sierra hpbt start @ 43grn of IMR4064 @ 2.775 COAL for 2,602fps and I just think that's too much for the my boolit and the depth its seated. Is .311 going to be too big to be safe? I have not slugged this particular rifle.

runfiverun
01-04-2016, 10:19 PM
you don't need to worry about the barrel the boolit has to go through the throat to get there.
if the boolit you have scuffs up in the ball seat area and the nose engraves the rifling you at least have a halfway straight start.
try 29 grs of the 4041 then 30 then 31 and keep on moving upwards until you run into a problem then change something.
alloy, powder speed or something

popper
01-05-2016, 11:08 AM
38-39 gr. of H335 should work well. Not near a full load so COAL shouldn't make much difference.

newton
01-05-2016, 02:41 PM