PDA

View Full Version : 8mm Nambu

bouncer50
01-04-2016, 12:23 PM
I have a Nambu made in 1943. Years back a guy gave me 15 rounds of ammo for it. It was the most accurate military pistol i ever fired the trigger pull was great. I would like to reload for it my understanding is you can use 40 S&W brass to make ammo for it. What bullet mold is needed:? I also did some reading some people after the war rechamber them to 9mm Luger

Expat74
01-04-2016, 04:02 PM
http://www.surplusrifleforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=115329

This is what I found back in the day about brass conversion when I had hopes finding a Nambu over here..

Der Gebirgsjager
01-04-2016, 05:01 PM
Hi--let me say up front I'm no expert on this subject, but do find it very interesting. I have a Nambu, one of the earlier versions with the small trigger guard, very well machined and made. I've never fired it, and probably never will, but like many have contemplated the possibility and looked into it a little. I never heard of using .40 S&W brass, but for years using .38 special was pretty common. I think that the link provided by Expat74 and the information it contains on converting .357 Sig is really a good way to go. Just in case you don't know, you can buy ready made brass mfg. by Bertram Brass. Midway USA carries it. Also, lots of years ago now, Midway had a bunch made up which they offered for sale for several years, and some of that still surfaces here and there. You might also be interested to know that John J. Donnelly's book "The Handloader's Manual Of Cartridge Conversions" suggests using .30 Remington and briefly tells how to do it---although now days finding .30 Remington brass might not be that easy. You might also try Graf & Sons for ready made brass. If you follow through on your project I hope you'll share the results with us.

DG

bedbugbilly
01-05-2016, 01:11 PM
bouncer50 - I know absolutely "nothing" about the Nambu's other than what they are. But your post caught my eye.