PDA

View Full Version : Irs scam

xs11jack
01-01-2016, 12:51 AM
I got two phone calls a couple of days ago when the Shari and I were out most of the day. They were scam IRS calls. One is a female that kind of sounds like a recording. She says something like "This is the IRS, we have filed a court order against you. To settle this immediately call this number." I did not save the phone number but the area code was from Washington state. The second call was a male and gave a spiel about the same as the first one. This call had a New York state area code. First of all I am not a lawyer but I have been in law enforcement and know that you can not file a court order against someone without serving them with the court papers that inform you of the charges and a court date. Second the IRS doesn't call about fines and court business, they send registered letters. Thirdly, I live about 40 miles west of St.Louis, Mo. There is no way an that TWO IRS offices from out of state would have anything to do with a Missouri case.
OK, more info, I just saw a local TV news report that says the St.Louis area is just one area that is being flooded with (besides the water we got the last week) these scam calls. The news reporters interviewed the head of the local IRS office in St.Louis and he said that some of them are being traced to overseas locations. He also admitted that he got a call too!! They showed one of the phone numbers on the screen but it happened so fast I only got the last 4 digits and they are 4411. Shari at the time we got the phone calls, tried to call the number in Washington but got a message saying the number was out of service and to call another number. She called that number but it was busy. She then called the New York number and it was busy too. Then she called the local IRS number to report the scam and would you believe there is a 1 hour wait for that number!! So please don't fall for this scam and tell everyone you know about it.
Ole Jack

jsizemore