PDA

View Full Version : What to consider when buying alloy?

JohnH
12-30-2015, 09:54 PM
I'm writing off the top of my head as I think this through some, so it may be a bit rambling. I've been casting since the mid 1980's. To say that wheel weights have been my friend wold be an under statement. Over the years I've landed a few deals on some linotype and pure lead and I generally mix these at 2 parts lead to one part lino for an alloy that is pretty similar to WW these days. But times are changing and availability of scrounged lead sources are not so easy to come by, combine that with a move to another state and a different lifestyle and my scrounging days are numbered. Which brings me to how to supply my basic lead needs. Buying seems to be the simple answer. But from whom, and most precisely what. The majority of my shooting is with boolits at 900 fps. I do some shooting at 1600 fps. Plain Jane ACWW has served humbly and well for my needs. I can only assume that when buying alloy, I will still need to reduce the factory ingots to ingots for my lead pot. I assume there will be a lot less fuss in getting/keeping the alloy clean. I figure cost wise, it will be about half of what I could buy boolits for. This part makes me wonder though I have moulds that my guns like and I'd hate to have to begin a search for the "right boolit" again, only to have it become unavailable. I enjoy the process enough that cost itself is not a deterrent. Perhaps I'm just seeking to know what others experience in this area have been, what are the ups and downs of it. Thanks, John

runfiverun
12-30-2015, 10:40 PM
well buying leaves you options.
and you do get a known, consistent alloy.

you could buy 2/6/92 like the commercial casters use easy enough.
and pure lead easy enough also and cut it in half to basically duplicate ww alloy with a bit more tin.