PDA

View Full Version : Casting for Glocks

ccjcc81
12-30-2015, 12:06 AM
Hello guys,

I’m new to casting, and I’ve got a few questions, mainly regarding shooting cast powder coated bullets through 9mm Glock factory barrels. I’ve been reading and researching for weeks now, and I’ve found a wealth of valuable information, but there are some specific things that I can’t find answers to.

1: What BNH do I need to cast to shoot a properly coated cast bullet through a factory 9mm Glock polygonal barrel? Can I get away with Antimonial Lead, pure lead with 5% antimony at BNH 13? I really hope so, because I have a virtually endless supply of 5% Antimony lead on tap, and if I can avoid changing that alloy, I want to. If 5% is too soft, would quenching get me where I need to be?

2: Hollowpoint casts. I see a 124 gr hollowpoint mold that Lyman puts out, and I wonder if I can make it work with a Glock with the alloy I mentioned above. From what I’ve read, 5% Antimony is a soft alloy, but will the powder coat provide enough structural rigidity to help soft cast hollowpoints run through a semi-auto pistol or CZ Scorpion without beating the hollowpoint up too badly?

3: Bullet sizing. I have read that .357 is an optimal size for 9mm. I have a Lee .356 sizing die. Do you think this will be big enough for a polygonal 9mm Glock barrel? Should I cast then powder coat, then use the .356 die, or should I cast, then resize to .356, then powder coat? Or do I need to go ahead and buy a .357 sizer and use it after powder coating?