PDA

View Full Version : Duel ram press???

abunaitoo
12-28-2015, 02:10 AM
I don't know where, but I once saw a picture of a "C" type press that had two rams, one next to the other.
I always thought that looked like a good idea. Doing two operations with one pull of the handle.
Been keeping on eye out for one here, but never seen one.
Anyone know anything about these????

troyboy
12-28-2015, 02:18 AM
The one I am familiar with is Herters. The other,while not 2 rams, uses a 2 station platen. It is a Dunbar. Skinner also made a few but good luck with finding one of those. Google Herters,Skinner and Dunbar reloading presses. You will find what you are looking for.

abunaitoo
12-28-2015, 03:37 AM
That's the one.
Did a search and it's the one I remember.
How good/bad are they????
Can the rams be changed so regular shell holders can be used????

troyboy
12-28-2015, 06:59 PM
Sorry I have no personal experience with that press. What I am certain of, resizing cases with that style of linkage is excessive compared to a press with compound linkage. Many wax poetically about these old presses but to me they are just tools. If you are enamored by the nostalgia, it is a hobby so whatever works for you.

Pressman
12-28-2015, 07:14 PM
abunaitoo, Herter's Model 81 uses two rams. Not to be out done Pacific offered a press with three rams.

re they usefull, well do you see anyone else copying that idea today. Nope. Having used the Herter's I found the design very clumsy and not any faster than the single ram presses. I always had grease on my right middle finger from bumping the ram when moving brass. Changing shellholders on the Herter's is a real PITA. A special Allen wrench with an itty bitty short end is necessary. Herter's supplied one with the press though I have never seen one.
Leverage on the Herter's is not high enough to make sizing and seating at the same time practical and double sizing is out of the question.