PDA

View Full Version : Troubleshooting a mould - opinions requested

martinibelgian
04-19-2008, 12:37 PM
Dear group,

I have a .458 540gr mould which I use for BPCR. It casts a nice-looking and very accurate bullet, but is rather hard to work with... I have to cast in a really narrow temp range with both mold and lead, or I get some lead between top of the blocks and sprue plate around the bullet base (yes, a base pour mould).
This is the 1st mold giving me this problem, and I would like to know what I can do to cure this situation.
I'm not really new to bullet casting, I've been casting for about 10 years, mostly large , heavy .45 cal bullets for BPCR shooting. I managed to get all my moulds tuned up, but this one is giving me fits.

I already tried polishing both sprue plate and top of the blocks with emery paper on a flat surface, running it with a tight and a loose sprue plate - no ceegar. The base of the bullet regularily gets 'flashing', more specifically some lead flow from the base of the bullet between the sprue plate and the top of the blocks.
My question is - what can I do to remedy this? Any and all expert opinions and advice appreciated. would this be a venting problem maybe?

leftiye
04-19-2008, 02:10 PM