PDA

View Full Version : Is there a perfect alloy for deer?

Abert Rim
12-12-2015, 02:23 PM
Have a friend who wants to work up a cast load in his .308 for deer. He was asking about an alloy that can be pushed to 2,000 (with GC) that will reliably expand. I have no first-hand experience with this, and was thinking something like 20:1 or 16:1.

TXGunNut
12-12-2015, 02:49 PM
I think antimony is useful for making a boolit tough enough to be fired at that velocity, 20:1 or 16:1 are excellent BPCR alloys and likely killed millions of buffalo but BP velocities are well under your desired velocity. WW's contain lead, tin and antimony making them an awesome alloy as is or a good starting place. My hunting alloy is similar to Larry Gibson's preferred alloy; I mix WW's and pure lead 50/50 and add a bit of tin as needed for good mould fillout. For higher velocities or added toughness I often heat treat my boolits.
I've arrived at my hunting alloys by reading Larry's posts and Glen Fryxell's excellent book on handgun alloys.

Larry Gibson
12-12-2015, 02:52 PM
COWWs + 2% tin then mix 50/50 with pure lead.

Larry Gibson

missionary5155
12-12-2015, 04:09 PM
Greetings
I just re read an article in Handloader about there Not being any "do it factory" jacketed thing. Much less a cast boolit.
I would write the closest I can come to that "reliable expansion" would be a paper patched cast boolit. Then you can push easily a "range scrap" plus 1% tin to 2000 and it will expand at any range. But to just cast a boolit from even 20-1 and expect it to hold together on a shoulder at 20 yards and about 1975 fps may be disappointing. Plus at 200 yards it may not expand at all cruising through the ribs.
At what velocity and range will be the expected impact ? I hunt river bottoms and have never ignited a load farther than 33 yards. Most are under 20 yards. What weight cast is he thinking ? What stye... hopefully a flat nose.