PDA

View Full Version : Need creative help on slugging my barrel

Lagamor
12-11-2015, 07:51 PM
I have the equipment, and some wheelweight lead to start casting. But I want to slug my barrels before I start and I can't find anyplace that has pure lead suitable for this.
Ive gone to all the auto part stores in my area and nobody has any lead Stick On wheel weights. I'm all out of options. I don't know where to go for what I'm looking for.
Dose anybody know where I can find pure lead for this? Creative ideas are always welcome.
I also don't understand a common term on this website. What does SOWW mean?
im totally new to this and would appreciate some old hand cueing me in.

ThAnks in advance.

DougGuy
12-11-2015, 08:03 PM
Go to Wallyworld and get their egg sinkers from the fishing section. I use #6 and I think I smack them on the back of my vise to flatten them out and swell the middle of them bigger to do a .45 barrel. They are sized enough to do a .44 barrel without flattening them.

COWW = clip on wheel weights
SOWW = stick on wheel weights

50/50+2% = 50% wheel weight 50% pure lead 2% tin

Lagamor
12-11-2015, 08:24 PM
Thanks. That is very helpful.

love this site. The knowledge base is second to none!

Pipefitter
12-11-2015, 08:34 PM
Motorcycle shops should have Stick On Wheel Weights, If you are in need of a bit of soft lead or an approiprate sized egg sinker drop me a pm with your address and I will get some to you, just let me know what size you need.

JWFilips
12-11-2015, 09:53 PM
If you know any muzzleloaders they probably will give you a few pure lead balls! What caliber are you slugging?

Lagamor
12-11-2015, 10:04 PM
9mm(Makarov & Luger), .357 and .40.

edler7
12-15-2015, 11:49 PM
Careful on the egg sinkers. Some are zinc and are a lot harder than pure lead. The zinc weights were marked as such on the package when I went on the hunt for mine.

gwpercle
12-16-2015, 02:38 PM