PDA

View Full Version : Hard to clean bore with CB

cityjack
12-10-2015, 01:09 PM
Afternoon all,

First time posting here although I have been shooting lead wadcutters almost exclusively for 20 years. Copper when it came time to hunt, but almost always lead only for target, plinking, and IDPA.

I have always had a hard time keeping the bores, grooves, and lands clean like when using copper plated rounds. I have recently purchased some 9mm dies and was asking some questions of other 9mm shooters their pet loads for such. I saw a lot of comments where people were not so successful or at least as successful as when shooting copper rounds for accuracy or tight groupings. I really want to continue to shoot CB. One of the reasons is because the gentleman who I buy my CB from is a retired gentleman who enjoys getting a check from me every now and then and I enjoy paying him for his craft. Plus they are cheaper than the plated rounds. I feel like I am doing a good thing helping him put food in the cupboard and pay some bills. His .45 ACP bullets are spot on, ALWAYS! I figured I'd try his 9mm castings. But these stories I'm hearing have me thinking.

Also, any suggestions on any better cleaning techniques? Lewis lead remover maybe?

Thanks all and have a great holiday.

Sid

lobogunleather
12-10-2015, 01:59 PM
The 9mm Luger cartridge was the first I ever reloading, starting in 1971, and the first for which I cast bullets, starting about 1973.

Serious leading problems are usually related to one of two factors: (1) inadequate bullet hardness for the load being used; (2) inadequate lubrication for the load being used.