PDA

View Full Version : Wheel Weights Melting Question

chaos
04-12-2008, 08:07 PM
I am a total newbie to casting. Been reloading for 20 some odd years.

Today I drove into town, a 60 mile trip and stopped at 3 tire shops. 2 of which promised to save me any future weights and another told me first come first sever basis. I rounded out the day with approximately 5 gals of weights for $20.

I am going to melt these on a fish fryer to clean the stuff up and was wondering what kind of skillet to use? Is cast Iron OK? My wife will skin me if I try and use her good stuff............. Any cheap skillets that I found in town had the teflon finish, which I dont think would be a good idea.

Thanks.
Chaos

I am currently looking at getting a lyman 4500 sizer or something in that price range. I know absolute zilch and am going to get the Lyman casting book as was suggested to me. I first wanted to see how difficult it would be to get lead...turned out to be a snap...... I still have yet to ask my friend who owns a tire store as it's located 60 miles in the other direction. :-D[smilie=1::)

hotwheelz
04-12-2008, 08:13 PM
I dont see any problem with cast iron there are alot of guys who use dutch oven and cast iron pans..

grumpy one
04-12-2008, 08:23 PM
I am going to melt these on a fish fryer to clean the stuff up and was wondering what kind of skillet to use? Is cast Iron OK? My wife will skin me if I try and use her good stuff............. Any cheap skillets that I found in town had the teflon finish, which I dont think would be a good idea.

I strongly recommend that you don't use anything with lead, that you will subsequently use for food preparation. Lead is a heavy metal poison; its effects are both somewhat cumulative, and disastrous to your health and well-being.