PDA

View Full Version : Plinker loads for 6.5 Japanese

clarks359
04-12-2008, 06:00 PM
I am new to the cast boolit world, so if I ask something dumb please forgive me. I would also like to say "Thanks" in advance for any and all help, it will be greatly appreciated. I have a couple of 6.5 Japanese that I would like to try with cast boolits. I have a Ideal 266469 mould, 5 gal bucket of WW's, but no gas checks. I am looking for a load that will keep the velocity low enough to not need gas checks, if any exists. Once again Thanks for any and all help.

Ben
04-12-2008, 06:50 PM
If your mold has a gas check shank on it, you will probably only get marginal accuracy ( or most probably even worse than that ) with your bullets without the gas check in place.

Gas checks are expensive, but 1,000 of them will last you a long time. 1,000 rds out of your 6.5 Jap is a good bit of shooting ! ! I'd like to suggest that you invest in a box of gas checks. You'll get a lot more accuracy out of that particular bullet with the gas check in place.

You'll also gain the advantage of being able to go way out and beyond light plinker loads if you so choose in the near future.

Ben

04-12-2008, 06:52 PM
I'm looking for a 6.5 jap load, too. Currently waiting on a new mould from Old West Moulds that will drop a PB 130 and a GC 145, or so the target weight is. Eager to see what comes to this thread.

badgeredd
04-12-2008, 08:03 PM
I'll be watching this thread too. I have 2 Japs and cast would be fun in them.

BTW, if you happen to need some brass, I found that 35 Remington brass can be formed pretty easy as a replacement and it is often cheaper when on sale in bulk. The neck is short but works fine with 140 grain jacketed bullets so I'd guess that heavier cast would be even better.

04-12-2008, 11:14 PM
Good to know about the .35 Rem brass option.

Phil
04-13-2008, 12:07 AM