PDA

View Full Version : First six boolits I cast . . .

TexasJeff
04-12-2008, 02:16 AM
Went to the range tonight and tried out my cast boolits. The first boolits I've ever cast on my own, by myself, came from the Lee .358 148WC mould--but not a tumble-lube mould. The alloy is a mix of plumber's lead (smelted lead pipe), wheel weights and 1/3 lb of a bar of tin/lead solder mix. I water-qwenched the boolits right out of the mould, let dry, then tumble lubed using the Lee Liquid Alox.

I sized using the Lee push-through sizer, then re-lubed, let dry and loaded using 2.7 grains of Bullseye and Winchester small pistol primers. I've been reloading for over two decades, but this is the FIRST time I've ever made my own boolit, loaded it, and shot it.

What a feeling.

http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/c08f01ba2b.jpg (http://www.freeimagehosting.net/)

I'm hooked. I'm done. There IS no going back now.

Thanks for everyone's help and patience.

Jeff

warf73
04-12-2008, 04:41 AM
Thats a very nice group.
Welcome to the cast boolit world there is no turning back and no cure.

Warf

jack19512
04-12-2008, 08:02 AM
Real nice. :drinks:

Ben
04-12-2008, 08:07 AM
Now your " hooked ", you'll love it. Keep pouring. A great hobby and pastime. You're on a good board with some good people that are very helpful if you should need information as you continue your new found hobby.

By the way, that is some real good shooting ! !

Best to you,

Ben

04-12-2008, 08:46 AM
Welcome aboard. Nice shooting! This adds a whole 'nother side to your shooting sports.

mtgrs737
04-12-2008, 09:29 AM