PDA

View Full Version : grizzly bear, why is it?

Lloyd Smale
11-13-2015, 08:54 AM
that you don't hear of people eating them. Is it the parasites? I watch one of those Alaskan shows the other night and a guy shot one trying to get at his cattle heard. He went through all the bother of skinning it and took only a roast sized piece of meat and left the carcass and the hide to the scavengers. I guess I thought if one roast is good enough for you to eat why not take all the meat home. The family ate that chunk of meat in a stew for thanksgiving dinner.

44man
11-13-2015, 09:46 AM
Sounds like waste to me. I love black bear meat and I am sure Eskimo's have been eating Polar bear forever (Except the liver-toxic, vitamin A over load or something.)
Bear meat just has to be cooked real good, like pork used to need it.

Wolfer
11-13-2015, 09:47 AM
I have no personal experience with grizzly bear. From what I've read it depends on what they've been eating.
If they have been eating like a herbivore the meat is edible. If they've been eating like a predator then not so much.

Ballistics in Scotland
11-13-2015, 11:20 AM
Possibly, although they say lion is good eating. Maybe it is just that a lot fewer of them get shot.

I'd want to stew any bear meat, and stew it carefully. In 1896 a Norwegian Professor Andre tried fly over the North Pole by balloon. You can see him, miraculously preserved in Santa Claus's secret kingdom, in the Beau Bridges movie "Flight of the Reindeer". If you shed ballast every nightfall to compensate for contraction of the gas, and shed gas every morning to do the opposite, you run out of something. So he used dragchains on the ice, but they were seen to fall off, and they were never seen again until thirty years later, when an expedition to rescue General Umberto Nobile after his airship crash found the remains of a camp and partial skeletons.