PDA

View Full Version : Saeco sizer

james nicholson
11-11-2015, 09:01 PM
I am new to lube sizers, have always tumbled my pistol bullets in 45-45-10. But I was reading about the Saeco sizer and it said it swaged bullets to the proper size, does this mean it will squeeze the bullet to make it bump up a little? I picked up a new to me Winchester 94 in 30-30 and a Lee 309-150F mold. The mold throws my alloy at .3095 and when I run it thru the 309 sizer mainly to seat the gas check, I drop to .309. By measuring the mouth of a fired case, I could go up to .310 and still be good on chambering. I know I could always hone my Lee sizer, but I also want to try a harder rifle type lube such as carnuba red. Any Saeco users know if it will bump up? Also any advice on rifle casting and shooting would be appreciated.

Nueces
11-11-2015, 09:21 PM
The Saeco lube sizer, in common with the Star, Lyman, RCBS and others of similar design, size the same way as does your Lee die, though a lube sizer die generally has a much longer precision diameter than does the Lee. The oldest Ideal and Lyman size dies sized bullets by shaving lead. Thus, the distinction being made here by calling the modern process 'swaging.' You could more accurately think of it as 'squeezing.' The bullet passes through a tapered entry and is squeezed down to size.

In years past, some folks, limited to a few designs of factory moulds, would try to increase the nose diameters of rifle bullets, to better fit their bores, by using custom nose punches and bearing down hard at the end of a lube sizer handle stroke. This would bump up the nose diameter while the bullet shank was constrained in the sizer die. If you were to try to increase the bullet diameter in this way, I think your sizer would give up. They are not built for that sort of pressure.

Le Loup Solitaire
11-11-2015, 11:22 PM