PDA

View Full Version : Unobtrusive Woods Companion, Your Suggestions

Landy
11-10-2015, 07:46 PM
Thinking of something to serve in the old kit gun role but with a bit more authority for pests, no matter their number of legs.

I'm currently thinking that a 38+p or 357 small frame with real sights and 3" to 5" barrel is the best fit, and I'm open to suggestions of which of these you'd pick.

I've no experience with Charter Arms, but should their 44 and new 45 bulldogs be in the running because they start with a '4' - always nice for peace of mind?

Maybe I'm all wet, and you would suggest something else, entirely.

Outpost75
11-10-2015, 07:57 PM
A 4" .357 will be perfect for this role.

jmort
11-10-2015, 08:10 PM
"Real Sights"

I would probably get this SP101
http://www.ruger.com/products/sp101/images/5771.jpg

Landy
11-10-2015, 08:20 PM
I like the way you both think.

That SP 101 is my current top candidate, too.

An old 6" Security Six is, thus far, my all time favorite revolver, buying its little cousin there serious consideration.

Zim
11-10-2015, 08:25 PM
J-frame smith is always nice. The model 69 is what I'm saving for but I've got the Security Six too. Very nice.
Load down the Model 69 44 mag to special loadings & will be the terror of the soda cans everywhere.

LUCKYDAWG13
11-10-2015, 08:35 PM
SP 101 gets my vote too built like a tank but if i could have afforded it at the time i would have got this http://www.smith-wesson.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product4_750001_750051_765498_-1_757767_757751_757751_ProductDisplayErrorView_Y

Ramjet-SS
11-10-2015, 08:42 PM
cZ 82 9x18 Mak

paul h
11-10-2015, 08:46 PM
"Real Sights"

I would probably get this SP101
http://www.ruger.com/products/sp101/images/5771.jpg

Really can't think of anything better. Strong enough to hold up to 357 mag loads, light enough to not notice packing it.

Landy
11-10-2015, 08:46 PM
That M69 is VERY nice, but a bit more in every measure than I am thinking of.

tazman
11-10-2015, 08:48 PM