PDA

View Full Version : NOE brass vs. aluminum moulds

mac266
11-09-2015, 07:41 AM
I have been casting for maybe 12+ years. Thus far, all my moulds are from RCBS, Lyman, and Lee. I've found that, with care, the Lee moulds can make a decent boolit, but their quality control is sometimes lacking.

I've read on other threads how folks love NOE moulds, but I've never owned or used one. NOE makes aluminum and brass. My Lee moulds are aluminum, so I'm familiar with some of the finer points of using aluminum moulds. I've never used a brass one, however.

I'd like to try one of NOE's four, five, or six boolit moulds for some of my pistol boolits, so I can cut down on my time in the garage and increase my time on the range (yes, my Star is inbound from a guy on this very forum!). Do you recommend aluminum or brass, and why? Are there any special considerations for brass?

georgerkahn
11-09-2015, 08:12 AM
"Some like blondes while others prefer brunettes", as the saying goes. I have and use moulds from fourteen different makers, in steel, iron, brass, and aluminum. That said, those produced by NOE are of the highest quality in my entire collection! Imho, brass has its challenges: when you get it, it IS imperative you run the mould through three or four heat/cool cycles before casting with it. Also, I know I'd rethink, say, a six cavity brass mould from any maker: brass IS heavy! And, I pass the flame of a BIC lighter on the cavities for the very first few casts. If you graduate to RG or HP moulds, they are a bit more of a challenge for me, as the pins really need to be kept hot. (ALL of my problems with them -- I just lied: maybe 98% -- disappeared when I bought a G.E. hot-plate to pre-heat and keep mould hot before/during casting sessions) Only other "consideration" is MINE, again, are the best in my stable; I doubt if they'll be a disappointment to you. And... brass doesn't rust.